0. The Staff reserves the right to make any ruling they see fit to any scene as need be appropriate. Please be sure to check with the Staff for various OWBN Bylaws and Genre Binding Documents for anything not presented here.
1. Powers (Merits, Disciplines, Rituals, etc) that are not in LotN: R, or Guide to the Sabbat must be written down on either an item card or the notes section of your character sheet citing the document, page number, and mechanics.
2. You may not combine damage dealing attacks with carrier attacks; i.e., you may either strike for damage or strike to quell.
3. Willpower may be spent to ignore frenzy for 15 minutes. If the stimulus is still present at the end of 15 minutes, you frenzy, no test. The willpower must be spent before your check for Frenzy.
4. You may only bid up to double your natural generational max for traits.
5. Linguistics – Straight out of Laws of the East (which states “This version of Linguistics can also be considered to supersede the rules for Linguistics given in all previous Mind’s Eye Theatre games.) Level 1 = 1 additional language, Level 2 = 2, Level 3 = 4, Level 4 = 8, Level 5 = 16. In addition to the 2 Trait Bonus on Linguistic Challenges, the Natural Linguist Merit doubles the number of languages a character may possess.
6. Influence – See Dark Epics. No PC may have more than 5 points in any one sphere, unless they possess the Paragon Merit.
7. Fame is capped at three at character creation.
8. The Rituals ability is used to retest Ritae, the Rituals background is used to actually possess Rites.
9. The Merit Ambidextrous provides an additional trait when wielding two weapons, not an additional action.
10. The Merit Luck may not be used in combat challenges.
1. To teach a Combination Discipline, you must possess at least one of the prerequisite disciplines In Clan.
2. In a challenge, you may win on ties with EITHER Potence or Celerity.
3. In challenges of Auspex vs. Obfuscate, you add a number of traits equal to your Auspex or Obfuscate.
4. When making use of an out of body power, Psychic Projection, Possession, Subsume etc., the location of your body must be logged with a staff member.
5. Animalism: Drawing Out the Beast – When using this power, your beast returns to you at the end of the scene.
6. Chimerstry: Horrid Reality – An ST must be present for the use of this power. If this power is used to stake someone or cause a mortal blow, they may expend an Aegis to negate it as if it were real.
7. Fortitude: Aegis – You may expend an Aegis to negate staking before the two simples are thrown, not after. Aegis may be spent to restore Withered limbs. An Aegis spent in this manner does not negate damage, nor does an Aegis spent to negate damage restore lost limbs.
8. Obtenebration: Arms of the Abyss - You may only summon/control a number of tentacles equal to the sum of your Obtenebration + Occult divided by two, rounded down.
9. Presence: Majesty – This power is line of interaction. If you can interact with the character, you are under the effects of Majesty. This power does not translate through electronic means of communication, such as a phone call.
10. Thanatosis: Withering – Aegis may be spent to negate the use of this power at the cost of one Aegis per limb.
11. Valaren: Burning Touch – A willpower may be spent to ignore the effects of this power.
12. Valaren: Armor of Caine’s Fury – This replaces Ending the Watch. To activate Armor of Caine’s Fury, you spend one blood, and up to five mental traits. For each mental trait you spend, you gain a level of armor that is capable of soaking bashing and lethal damage. You are also one trait up on Courage challenges. This power may only be activated once per scene.
13. Vicissitude: Blood Form – This power is instantaneous and may be used reflexively. When attacked you may turn any part of your body to blood and negate the physical damage at the cost of one blood trait. Other sources of damage still apply (fire, wards, etc.). If this is being done to avoid being staked, you must declare turning your heart to blood before the two simple tests.
Changing Morality Paths
- The chop is a static willpower challenge, with three different difficulties based on the differences between your current path and the one you are trying to switch to.
- Difficulty 5: If you're switching to a path that has the same virtues as your current path (i.e., Humanity to Honorable Accord).
- Difficulty 6: If you're switching to a path that has only two virtues in common with your current path (i.e., Humanity to Death and the Soul).
- Difficulty 7: If you're switching to a path that has only one virtue in common with your current path (i.e., Humanity to Power and the Inner Voice).
- You may make your first attempt to switch paths at a Morality of 2. If you win outright on this test, you may start at a rating of 2 on the new path.
- If your first attempt to switch paths is at a Morality of 1, you may make a free retest should you fail the initial challenge. If you win outright on the initial test, you may start at a rating of 2 on the new path.
- Additionally, when making the challenge to switch paths, you may expend as many PERMANENT willpower traits as you wish, up to your current permanent willpower, to continue retesting should you fail the initial challenge.
- When making your path switch, you must still spend XP on your new path traits and virtues. Remember that morality traits are 2xp, while virtues are 3xp each.